Let Sleeping Dogs Lie

You asked about what we did for Thanksgiving and we didn’t do anything to celebrate our Thanksgiving. Liberia does have its own Thanksgiving the first Thursday in November. Thanksgiving here is celebrated to give thanks to God for freeing the slaves and allowing them a place in Africa to live freely.

The weather over here is almost always the same. Because the weather stays the same I cannot tell the difference in time of year. Time does not really feel like it is a real thing here. You did ask and so far I have not really heard about Christmas from anyone.

This was another very good week. I feel very blessed to be in such a good mission and to be in Gardnersville with Elder Poulson. I feel very blessed to have the investigators that we have. It has been great to see how much effort our investigators have been putting in to study and know the lessons we have been giving them. For example, this past week we met with a man named Nelson. We asked him if he studied the lessons we gave him. He said, “Yes, I have gone through them a few times and then he went on to share his testimony about what he learned. He told us he has experienced the blessings that come from living the word of wisdom and law of chastity. I was first amazed how powerful his testimony was. I was then amazed to find out that he had had problems with both the law of chastity and word of wisdom. He got over his addiction to beer and alcohol and has been sober for 11 months before we talked to him about the word of wisdom. He gave up being with girls a long time ago and has been living the law of chastity for a while now. Talk about prepared! I really was happy how committed he already was and how he has truly been prepared of the Lord. Nelson was a referred to us from a member in the branch who has been friends with Nelson for a while. Nelson stared to ask more questions about the church so the member handed him over to us and it has been great to teach him.

I had 3 more baptisms on Saturday so that was cool. Since I have been in my new area I have had 8 baptisms in 6 weeks. I think I sent some pictures home on my flash drive. Things have been going very good. I really am so lucky to be in this mission. I know it is exactly where I needed to go. Liberia is exactly where I need to be. It is the perfect place for my strengths and is the perfect place for my struggles. Many of the American missionaries that serve here have received their eagle or served in the military.

A small random story: yesterday before church a dog came in and fell asleep on the floor next to me. The dog remained there undisturbed the whole meeting. Another dog came in and started to eat one of the chairs so that one got kicked out, haha.

Elder Orton

Random picture of Liberian dogs

Random picture of Liberian dogs taken by Elder Orton

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Let Sleeping Dogs Lie

  1. Nelda W. Orton says:

    Elder Bryan Orton, Grandma and Grandpa Orton also know you are where you should be and appreciate your testimony and attitude in serving our Heavenly Father. You have great parents. We send our love and prayers. Keep up the good work!!!!!

    _____

    From: Elder Bryan Orton’s Liberia Monrovia Mission Blog [mailto:comment-reply@wordpress.com] Sent: Monday, December 09, 2013 12:07 PM To: nelda.w.orton@gmail.com Subject: [New post] Let Sleeping Dogs Lie

    ortonlindsey posted: “You asked about what we did for Thanksgiving and we didn’t do anything to celebrate our Thanksgiving. Liberia does have its own Thanksgiving the first Thursday in November. Thanksgiving here is celebrated to give thanks to God for freeing the slaves and a”

Leave a Reply

