An Interview

The week goes by so fast it feels like I have already told you everything in my last email. Then when it comes to writing a new email I almost have nothing to say. When we are out of time I remember something that happened.

This past week was a pretty good week. We had a zone conference and Elder LeGrand R. Curtis Jr. from the First Quorum of the Seventy came to talk to us. He is serving as the Africa West Area President. Having Elder Curtis come was really cool and interesting. We were able to hear about the numbers of this mission compared to the world. We are in an amazing area.

Tuesday before we got to the place where they were having the zone conference, my companion got a text saying that I was going to be interviewed by Elder Curtis. I was slightly confused and a little intimidated but I felt pretty confident that it wasn’t a bad thing. When we got there I found out I was going to be the first one Elder Curtis was going to interview. Being first made me a little nervous.

I felt the interview went well. Right after we stared talking with each other he paused for a moment and felt his pocket. He pulled out his phone looked at it and then looked at me. Elder Curtis said, “Sorry, one moment, this is church headquarters” as he answered it. I didn’t have any idea what he was talking about but it was a fun interruption. This made my interview seem really long to those that were waiting outside to be interviewed next. He asked me some pretty normal questions like, “How has your mission been? How is your companion? What is a cool experience you would like to share?” and so on. He complimented me on a few things and at the end and talked about how he appreciates my service and he knows that the Lord does too.

We were able to see two of our investigators (M&G) get baptized this past Saturday. It was such a cool experience. I love this work.

The following is taken from a hand written letter we received on 2/6/14:

Oh and Mom, thank you for mailing me that talk by William G. Eggington, “Therefore Ye Are No More Strangers and Foreigners.” It was really good. I really liked it. After I read it I gave it to my companion to read and he liked it. Then after my companion I gave it to my District Leader and then one of my Zone Leaders. After Elder Dallin (my Zone Leader) read it he asked his brother and sister to read it. So it looks like your sending that talk did a lot of good.

Well here is a random story: I found out that when I am sick of rice I like to eat bread, mayo, and onion. I think it is good at least at this stage in my life where strange food is a part of my every day experience. You should try it sometime. But I guess I also go through times when I really want rice. It is a strange thing to realize I am craving rice. Hmmm, well I guess that’s also a good thing since that is what I am stuck with most of the time anyway.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

