Cooking with Gas or Running on Faith

This week we taught a good amount of lessons, we had our district conference, and I got a few letters from home. So I would say, overall it was a pretty good week for me.

The District Conference was ok. I didn’t really have a chance to hear much of it because it was crowded. We had no room with the 940ish people that were there. We sat outside in the hallway and the people around me were talking so it was hard to hear. My investigators said they really liked Sister Kirkham’s talk and they enjoyed the kid’s choir. So that’s good. The message was about finding a life style of happiness or something like that.

I ate some turtle this week. Turtle tastes like a cool mix of clam and chicken. My companion and I were on our way to an investigators home. When we got there I saw something on their roof. I stood on a small dirt mound to get a better look and I realized it was a turtle shell. So I asked them about the shells. They said how they get a few turtles to eat and asked if i wanted to try some. I said yes (because I really don’t like to pass up a chance to try different things) and it was fun to experience. We got to keep some turtle shells that they had left over. That was also cool.

Oh yeah, we did have a service project last week. We cut grass with the machetes and moved some cut down trees. I am not sure who this work was for because it wasn’t in my area. I put on my boots while working on this project. We put in just over two hours’ work and then we got to eat. It was a good experience.

One interesting thing, normally we go through one propane tank every month or sometimes just 3 weeks. The propane tank we have now has been going for more than two months. We don’t know why it is still working. We have joked about how it is running off of faith because it seems we have even been using it more then we normally do and yet it is still going. The propane works our stove. We don’t have too much time to cook but it is not rare for us to make rice with tomato paste canned vegetable and onions with pepper and salt.

I just gave a letter and pictures to the couples yesterday to send. So it might come in 4 weeks or something like that. I received some letters from you, the Divine’s, and the Leslie family so that was fun.

-Elder Orton

Picture from the Bushrod Island District Conference from Elder and Sister Berrett. On their blog they said, “The chapel in Duala was packed. It was very hot inside and those in the classrooms were not able to hear, BUT everyone reverently stayed for the whole meeting.”

This picture is from the Bushrod Island District Conference taken by Elder and Sister Berrett. On their blog the Berrett’s said, “The chapel in Duala was packed. It was very hot inside and those in the classrooms were not able to hear, BUT everyone reverently stayed for the whole meeting.”


Picture and comment from Elder and Sister Berrett from their blog, “Members leaving after Conference and walking down the road in front of the chapel to go catch a motor bike or taxi ride home.”

Picture and comment from Elder and Sister Berrett from their blog, “Members leaving after Conference and walking down the road in front of the chapel to go catch a motor bike or taxi ride home.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

