Our Branch has a new Rose

I am able to send some pictures this week. This week went really fast. We had our quarterly interviews with President Kirkham and that went well. I also got the package you sent Friday. Thank you so much for sending that. It was great. I loved the stuff about the Stutz Park a lot. It was really awesome to look over the plans. The alarm clock is really cool and it is just like the one you would see in all of the movies so thank you. Of course the candy is great and I thank you.

For letters anyone wants to send they can use Dear Elder. I guess Dear Elder is generally pretty good at getting here. [Remember to choose Liberia Monrovia Mission in the dropbox. This service is free.]

During my interview with President Kirkham he asked about my family. I described a little bit of how things are going at home. He talked to me for quite a bit about it and talked about 2 Nephi 2:2 and how if you are living right that your afflictions are consecrated and can only be for your gain. I thought that was really interesting. He also talked about the section in True to the Faith about adversity there is a part that says your happiness in this life and in the eternities is largely determined by how you face your adversities. (That is not a direct quote because I do not have the book with me and I don’t have it memorized.) So, to me it looks like everything will not only turn out ok in the end but also will have been the best for you. Take courage and know your trials are your greatest blessings when you are striving to do all the Lord asks “…He shall consecrate thine afflictions for thy gain.”

I was told about a preacher for another church who was being taught by the missionaries. After four or so lessons he came to them and said, “You know I have been really impressed with your past lessons. I have to admit that every week you came and taught me something new that is what I preached to my congregation on the following Sunday. I have been having more success than ever before.”

We had two baptisms on Saturday and they went well. I am excited because Sister Rose who is 29 will be very helpful for our branch. She is an amazing person and then the gospel made her even better. She began being taught by the missionaries over a year ago and she will be a solid member and is very nice. Rose has 3 kids and her niece who is a member plus her mom who is a member. Her sister and a few others are not members yet.

The other baptism was a 12-year-old girl who was adopted by another member of the branch. Her name is Tutu Girl (yes that is her real name). We started to teach her about a month ago.

Baptisms for us are about to change because there is a font that was just completed not too far away so we will go there from now on. I don’t know how things will change because normally we went to the District Center and the Zone Leaders would call for someone to go fill up the font. This would happen before we got there because the font takes almost 4 hours to fill.

I want to thank you for all of your prayers and thank you again for the package. I hope this week will be a good one for you all. Know that not a day goes by where I don’t offer up a prayer in your behalf, I love you all.

-Elder Orton

Elder Orton took and sent this picture telling us, "This is a cool bamboo house in our area."

Elder Orton took and sent this picture telling us, “This is a cool bamboo house in our area.”


Elder Orton viewing and taking a picture of the moon from Liberia. “You talked about the blood moon there in the States. I took this moon picture here in Liberia with my camera which can enlarge up to 80x if I turn on the digital zoom. It isn’t a blood moon but it is awesome.”

Elder Orton viewing and taking a picture of the moon from Liberia. “You talked about the blood moon there in the States. I took this moon picture here in Liberia with my camera which can enlarge up to 80x if I turn on the digital zoom. It isn’t a blood moon but it is awesome.”


Elder Orton took this picture of a missionary influence insect – Liberian praying mantis

A missionary influenced insect – Liberian praying mantis


A gorgeous Liberian sunset

A gorgeous Liberian sunset

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

