The Rain Didn’t Stop Us

This week we had an emergency Stake conference. I didn’t actually know you could do that but it went well. They split our Stake in two and that actually changed our zone boundaries for the missionaries as well, so this week we did see some changes. Our branch was not really effected.

At the Saturday session we got to meet and talk with one of the translators for general conference. This man translates the English to Twi. He said he makes visits to the United States because that is where he went to school and met his wife so he goes there for a lot of holidays. So I thought that was cool. I also found out that he usually stays in Orem when he goes over to the US.

I also was given a package at the conference by the mission president. At first I was confused but after I got home I read your note and saw what was inside and it was awesome. Thank you for that.

Other than the conference not too much happened. I think we are getting to the end of the rainy session but it did rain heavy for two days this week. The rain made our area very, very muddy which made it was a little harder to move around. The rain didn’t stop us from having great lessons with our investigators, so that part is good.

You asked what kind of interesting fruits are available around Tema New Town. That I know of new or different fruit here. I feel there is less fruit here than in Liberia. Oh, also I was talking with Elder Dube of the Seventy and he said that they might open Liberia back up in July if things go as planned.

You also asked about mice and rats. Where we currently live there are rats but they are not by or in where we stay, so that is good.

I hope you liked the pictures because I don’t know when I will send more and it took half of my emailing time.

I hope all is well – Elder Orton

The Tema New Town Branch President

The Tema New Town Branch President


Our Branch President and how he addresses us every Sunday. He is such a humble man and is always doing service and with a positive attitude. He built his own house and did the electric work for it too. I thought that all he has accomplished was crazy but in addition he shares the gospel with everyone. I think almost all of our referrals have come from him and his wife. He is so amazing.
One Amazing Man

One Amazing Man


Elder Jensen, Elder Jorgensen, and Elder Orton in African suits that a branch member helped get for them

Elder Jensen, Elder Jorgensen, and Elder Orton in African suits that a branch member helped get for them


So far as I know, the suits don’t have special meaning unless you put symbols on them like Gye-Nyame which is a symbol meaning roughly, “Only God.” A lot of the people wear these kind of suits to church and you find lots of bright colors are used.
Elder Jorgensen, decorated for Halloween and Elder Orton dressed up in his African suit

Elder Jorgensen, decorated for Halloween and Elder Orton dressed up in an African suit


This the Tema New Town church building

This the Tema New Town church building

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

